High school hockey: Big Eight picks all-conference teams

Comments Comments Print Print
Gazette staff
Tuesday, March 11, 2014

Verona dominated in Big Eight boys hockey this past season and continues to dominate in the all-conference selections.

The state champion Wildcats have three players on the first team.

Madison Memorial junior Ty Pelton-Byce, a University of Massachusetts recruit, is the Big Eight’s Player of the Year. Pelton-Byce led the conference in scoring with 82 points and averaged 3.42 points per game.

Joining Pelton-Byce as first-team forwards are Verona’s Charlie Parker and Madison West’s Cole Paskus. Verona’s Phillipe Fromberger and Memorial’s Jack Andringa are the first-team defensemen, while Verona’s Alex Jones was voted the top goaltender.

Janesville junior Connor Perkins was a second-team forward, while teammate and junior Harry Henschler was a second-team defenseman.


First Team

Forwards: Ty Pelton-Byce, jr., Memorial; Charlie Parker, sr., Verona; Cole Paskus, sr., West.

Defensemen: Jack Andringa, soph., Memorial; Phillipe Fromberger, sr., Verona.

Goalie: Alex Jones, soph., Verona.

Second Team

Forwards: Brogan Baker, jr., Verona; Riley Karns, jr., Memorial; Connor Perkins, jr., Janesville.

Defensemen: Harry Henschler, jr., Janesville; Davis Bunz, soph., Middleton.

Goalie: Henry Cutting, jr., West.

 Player of the Year—Ty Pelton-Byce, Memorial.

 Coach of the Year—Joel Marshall, Verona.

Honorable mention

Michael MacDougall, sr., Janesville; Tyler Jensen, fr., Beloit; Griffin Epping, sr., West; Max Lentz, jr., West; Kyle Joswiak, jr., West; Jordan Carey, sr., Middleton; Patrick Whalen, sr., Beloit; Mick Messner, fr., West; Pat Stevens, sr., Verona.

Final standings

verona, 14-0-0; Madison West, 12-2-0; Madison Memorial, 9-5-0; Middleton, 7-5-2; Janesville, 6-7-1; Beloit Memorial, 3-10-1; Sun Prairie, 3-11-0; Madison La Follette/East, 0-14-0.

Comments Comments Print Print