High school hockey: Big Eight picks all-conference teams

Share on Facebook Comments Comments Print Print
Gazette staff
March 11, 2014

Verona dominated in Big Eight boys hockey this past season and continues to dominate in the all-conference selections.

The state champion Wildcats have three players on the first team.

Madison Memorial junior Ty Pelton-Byce, a University of Massachusetts recruit, is the Big Eight’s Player of the Year. Pelton-Byce led the conference in scoring with 82 points and averaged 3.42 points per game.

Joining Pelton-Byce as first-team forwards are Verona’s Charlie Parker and Madison West’s Cole Paskus. Verona’s Phillipe Fromberger and Memorial’s Jack Andringa are the first-team defensemen, while Verona’s Alex Jones was voted the top goaltender.

Janesville junior Connor Perkins was a second-team forward, while teammate and junior Harry Henschler was a second-team defenseman.


First Team

Forwards: Ty Pelton-Byce, jr., Memorial; Charlie Parker, sr., Verona; Cole Paskus, sr., West.

Defensemen: Jack Andringa, soph., Memorial; Phillipe Fromberger, sr., Verona.

Goalie: Alex Jones, soph., Verona.

Second Team

Forwards: Brogan Baker, jr., Verona; Riley Karns, jr., Memorial; Connor Perkins, jr., Janesville.

Defensemen: Harry Henschler, jr., Janesville; Davis Bunz, soph., Middleton.

Goalie: Henry Cutting, jr., West.

 Player of the Year—Ty Pelton-Byce, Memorial.

 Coach of the Year—Joel Marshall, Verona.

Honorable mention

Michael MacDougall, sr., Janesville; Tyler Jensen, fr., Beloit; Griffin Epping, sr., West; Max Lentz, jr., West; Kyle Joswiak, jr., West; Jordan Carey, sr., Middleton; Patrick Whalen, sr., Beloit; Mick Messner, fr., West; Pat Stevens, sr., Verona.

Final standings

verona, 14-0-0; Madison West, 12-2-0; Madison Memorial, 9-5-0; Middleton, 7-5-2; Janesville, 6-7-1; Beloit Memorial, 3-10-1; Sun Prairie, 3-11-0; Madison La Follette/East, 0-14-0.

Share on Facebook Comments Comments Print Print