Rattlers advance to WCC title game

Comments Comments Print Print
Gazette staff
Saturday, February 22, 2014

The UW-Rock County women’s basketball team will play for the Wisconsin Collegiate Conference championship today after beating UW-Marshfield 63-55 on Saturday.

The win avenged a 15-point loss the Rattlers suffered at the hands of the Marauders to end the regular season Feb. 8.

UW-Rock County coach Scott Lee said his team’s defense made the difference, holding the 2012-13 WCC champs to 23 points in the second half. The Rattlers held McKenzie Trunkel under her 20-point scoring average, and another Marauder who scored 23 in the first matchup had just six points in Saturday’s contest.

Hard work on the glass also helped the Rattlers. UW-Rock County outrebounded Marshfield 52-37, and 24 of the 52 boards were on the offensive end of the floor.

Lexie Weigand paced Rock County with 19 points, and Julia Dement recorded a double-double with 12 points and 10 rebounds.

“We’re pretty excited because it was a total team effort,” Lee said.

The Rattlers will play UW-Waukesha today at JustAGame Fieldhouse in Wisconsin Dells for the WCC title. Waukesha entered the tournament as the No. 1 seed with a 15-1 conference record. Its one loss came at the hands of Rock County, 68-63, back on Nov. 2 to open conference play. It will be the Rattlers’ first time playing for the WCC championship.


UW-Rock County (63)—Chesebro 3-0-6, Dement 4-4-12, Wellnitz 2-0-6, Kinney 1-2-4, O’Donnell 1-2-4, Weigand 8-0-19, Harnack 5-1-10. Totals 24-9-63.

UW-Marshfield (55)—Trunkel 6-1-17, Canik 2-1-5, Jankowski 1-0-2, Herdrich 7-3-16, Lynn 4-0-8, Craig 2-1-6. Totals 22-6-55.

Rock County     39     24—63

Marshfield        32     23—55

Three-point goals—Rock County 6 (Weigand 3, Wellnitz 2, Harnack), Marshfield 6 (Trunkel 4, Canick, Craig 1). Missed free throws—Rock County 10, Marshfield 6. Total fouls—Rock County 14, Marshfield 17. Fouled out—Craig.

Rattlers pick up player of the year awards

Rock County’s Leeanna Kinney and Kyle Hoskins earned WCC women’s and men’s players of the year honors. Kinney graduated from Evansville High, and Hoskins played for Elkhorn.

Joining Kinney and Hoskins on the all-conference teams were: Lexie Weigand (first team, Fort Atkinson High School), Julia Dement (second team, Janesville Parker High School) and Emilie O’Donnell (honorable mention, Janesville Craig High School) on the women’s side; and Danny Dessent (first team, Elkhorn High School), Safarii Hunt (second team, Machesney Park Harlem High School) and Mike Moss (honorable mention, Lincoln Way East High School) for the men.

“It’s nice to be recognized when you perform well, and the kids definitely did,” Lee said.

Comments Comments Print Print