Janesville Sports Hall of Fame announces 2014 inductees

Comments Comments Print Print
Gazette staff
Wednesday, February 5, 2014

It’s an extra-special year for the Janesville Sports Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame, sponsored by the Gazette throughout its history, will celebrate its 25th anniversary by inducting two coaching icons, two former basketball standouts and one of the area’s most accomplished female athletes in adult competition.

The silver anniversary event is Saturday, May 10, at the Janesville Country Club. It will begin with a 5 p.m. reception, followed by a steak dinner at 6 and the induction program at 7.

The 2014 inductees are:

•  Eric Burdette, a standout on Janesville Craig High School’s 1992-93 boys basketball team. He reached his full potential during a 1994-98 UW-Whitewater college basketball career, where he became a starting guard and record-setting shooter under Coach Dave Vander Meulen.

•  Joe Dye, who compiled a 123-74 record in 19 seasons (1993-2011) as Janesville Parker High School’s head football coach. He led the Vikings to five Big Eight Conference championships, 15 WIAA playoff appearances and earned a 2007 induction into the Wisconsin Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

•  Shawn Fredricks, three-time winner of the prestigious Janesville Half-Marathon and veteran of six ironman finishes, including Ironman Hawaii in 1987 and 1991, and winner of the women’s 55-59 age division of Ironman Wisconsin in 2011.

•  Joe Kaster, one of the state’s foremost authorities on wrestling, who had 33 individual conference champions and 20 WIAA state qualifiers in serving as Craig High’s head coach from 1967-1988. He devoted 25 years on the mat as a high school and college wrestling official and earned a 1995 induction into the George Martin (Wisconsin Wrestling Coaches Association) Hall of Fame.

•  George Lynch, a three-year starting guard in Craig High boys basketball, who led the Cougars to the WIAA state tournament as a junior in 1977, then to an 18-0 regular season and a 19-1 overall record and a tie for the No. 1 spot in the final  Associated Press state ratings as a senior in 1977-78, ultimately earning him All-Big Eight first-team and AP second-team all-state honors.

Comments Comments Print Print