Parker's Osmond earns first-team honor

Print Print
staff, Gazette
Wednesday, May 29, 2013

Cullen Osmond was expected to be Janesville Parker's No. 1 or No. 2 pitcher this season but a lingering arm injury kept him off the mound.

Fortunately for the Vikings, the injury didn't affect Osmond's performance at the plate.

The junior hit nearly .400 in earning All-Big Eight Conference first-team honors. Osmond was the only Janesville player to make first team.

Madison West senior outfielder Alex Brown was Player of the Year in the Big Eight, while the Regents' Ben Greiber was Coach of the Year.

Osmond hit .390 during the conference season with 15 RBI, seven stolen bases, five doubles and a triple.

"Cullen was our most consistent hitter up and down our lineup," Parker coach Brian Martin said. "It seemed like every game he was getting at least a couple hits.

"And hopefully, his arm gets back to full strength and he can help us on the mound next year. Not having him there this year really hurt us."

Janesville Craig senior infielder Brandon Hughes, junior outfielder Wyatt Olson and junior utility man Justin Graham were named to the second team.

Craig's Nick Blomgren, Alex Faust, Troy Malmanger and Ryan Marro were honorable mention, along with Parker's Zach Bailey, Darin Brewster and Tyler Brooks.

All-Big Eight

First Team

Pitchers: Brett Yoder, sr., Sun Prairie; Sam Lund, sr., Sun Prairie; Brian Lochner, sr., Middleton.

Catchers: Zach Fairchild, sr., Sun Prairie; Michael Mack, sr., Madison East.

Infielders: Riley Anderson, jr., Madison La Follette; Kasey Miller, jr., Middleton; Jarett Druding, jr., Beloit Memorial; Luke Schafer, jr., Middleton; Carter Brekke, sr., Sun Prairie.

Outfielders: Alex Brown, sr., Madison West; Patrick Whalen, jr., Beloit Memorial; Ryan Curran, jr., Sun Prairie; Cullen Osmond, jr., Janesville Parker.

DH: Aidan McNamara, sr., Madison West.

Utility: Armann Cabrera, jr., Beloit Memorial.

Second Team

Pitchers: Reese Felton, sr., Middleton; Simon Rosenblum-Larson, soph., Madison West.

Catcher: Ben Rortvedt, fr., Verona.

Infielders: Daniel Karlin-Kamin, sr., Madison East; Aidan Baggot, sr., Madison East; Brandon Hughes, sr., Janesville Craig; Brian Assalone, sr., Sun Prairie; Keegan Mickey, jr., Beloit Memorial; Fernando Espinosa, sr., Madison La Follette.

Outfielders: Ryan Hinze, sr., Madison East; Wyatt Olson, jr., Janesville Craig; Michael Marchese, jr., Sun Prairie.

DH—Luke Lanzendorf, sr., Madison La Follette.

Utility—Justin Graham, jr., Janesville Craig.

-- Player of the Year—Alex Brown, sr., West.

-- Coach of the Year—Ben Greiber, West.


Craig—Nick Blomgren, soph.; Alex Faust, jr.; Troy Malmanger, sr.; Ryan Marro, sr.; Parker—Zach Bailey, soph.; Darin Brewster, jr.; Tyler Brooks, sr.; Beloit—Trey Caple, sr.; Andres Oselio, soph.; Jayson Pemberton, sr.; East—A.J. Barlow, sr.; Donovan Tomony, fr.; Memorial—Joe Ferguson, sr.; Ben Horman, jr.; Riley Karns, soph.; Sam Kimball, jr.; Middleton—Jackson Keeler, jr.; Tanney Meinholz, sr.; Kenji Passini, sr.; Sun Prairie—Connor Funnell, jr.; Verona—Derek Witte, sr.; West—John James, sr.; Matt Ohm, sr.; Joe Trier, jr.; Kai Westring, sr.


Sun Prairie, 16-2; Middleton, 13-5; Madison West, 12-6; Beloit Memorial, 10-8; Janesville Craig, 10-8; Madison East, 7-11; Madison Memorial, 7-11; Janesville Parker, 5-13; Verona, 5-13; Madison La Follette, 5-13.

Last updated: 10:31 am Tuesday, July 2, 2013

Print Print