Five new members have been selected for 2011 induction into the Janesville Sports Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame, sponsored by The Janesville Gazette, has scheduled its 22nd annual induction ceremony for Saturday, May 14, at the Janesville Performing Arts Center. A social hour is set for 6 p.m., which will be followed by the program.

Stories on each of the inductees will be featured in Sunday editions of the Gazette.

These people will be inducted:

-- John Brikowski, a 1971 Janesville Parker High School graduate, who was the starting center on the Vikings’ WIAA open-class state basketball championship team as a senior and the American Legion Athletic Medal recipient as seven-letter winner in football, basketball and track.

-- Tom Scalissi, a 1973 Parker High graduate, two-time All-Big Eight Conference and second-team all-state running back, who went on to an outstanding NCAA Division II four-year football career at Northern Iowa University.

-- Joel Schmitz, a 1989 Parker High graduate, who was a three-time All-Big Eight shortstop in baseball, all-conference guard in basketball, American Legion Athletic Medal winner and a Northern Illinois University baseball standout.

-- Gary Schieve, a 1971 Janesville Craig High School graduate, who excelled as a baseball outfielder, played on a state championship American Legion team, was selected for the Kansas City Royals Baseball Academy and was a standout receiver on Craig’s 1970 conference championship football team.

-- Alicia Pelton, a 1987 Craig High graduate, who excelled as nine-letter winner in basketball, cross country, tennis and track, then went on to run for the University of Wisconsin.

They will join these previous inductees:

1990—Pat Dawson, Stan DuFrane, Evelyn Kettle, Kenneth Kitelinger, Robert Krueger, Bob Luchsinger Sr., Robert J. Morgan, Ted Scalissi.

1991—Kent Burdick, Kenneth F. Bick, Robert E. Cone, Jim Davies, James F. Fitzgerald, Carol Sorenson Flenniken, Beulah Paynter, Edward F. Quaerna.

1992—George Clatworthy, Jerry Davis, Dr. Timothy Paterick, Harold E. Rebholz, Donna Rusch, Johnny Saxer, Fred T. Westphal.

1993—Roy Coyle, Len W. Gersmehl, Jan Hoffman, Carol Luther, Barbara Dietz Mayer, Steve Neece.

1994—Harold Kotwitz, Sharon Dollins Landsee, Frank Rabiola, George Raubacher, Keith Sterk, Robert E. Strampe Jr., Rolland Sultze.

1995—Ronald O. Boyd, Carol Enke, Ross Kingsley, Sam Leete, Fred Townsend.

1996—Mark A. Cullen, William G. Lathrop Sr., Arnold E. Quaerna, Patrick J. Schloemer, Maureen Sheehan.

1997—Ronald W. Fraser, Gary Gloede, Jody Rittenhouse White, Terry Ryan, Brian Steinke.

1998—Dale W. Barry, Dick Hemming, Dan Madden, Charles W. Weber Jr., Susan Von Behren Witte.

1999—William L. Henke, Robert Luchsinger Jr., Richard C. Meier, Nancy K. Russo, Ervin “Jimmy” Johnson.

2000—Lori Kemnitz Bell, Gerald “Jed” Black, Charles Bolton, Joseph Coulter, Stan Fox.

2001—The Rev. David Boyd, John Brodie, Jennah Burkholder Hartwig, Wesley Mayer, Steve Van Galder,

2002—Charles D. Fisher, Lyle G. Gifford, John E. “Jack” Herrington, Camilla L. Owen, Thomas R. Schumacher.

2003—Shane Fleming, Lois A. Gilmore, Lawrence A. Hough, Ralph W. Truesdill, John W. Westphal.

2004—Michael C. Davis, Paul A. Hanewall, Michael Liebenstein Jr., Evelyn Sieg, Chris Weber.

2005—John Bobzien, Tom Carpenter, Roger A. Fenrick, Dan Hauser, Brenda Smith-Beagley.

2006—Richard S. Brodie, Mark Greenhalgh, T. William Schleisner, Kristen Yahr Cope, Daniel T. Kowal.

2007—Walter Burkheimer, Gregg Clatworthy, Lynn Klipstine, Eric Liebenstein, Sam Mylin.

2008—Jamie Anderson, Richard Kingsley, Robb Logterman, Steven Nickols and John Thiede.

2009—Ann Pastula Benner, J.P. Cullen, Steve Ellis, Dan Ryczek, Bob Suter.

2010—Ben Berlowski, Laura Glass, Jenny Gullickson, Richard Lambrecht, Dr. Ray Martinez.

Tickets information for the 2011 induction and other program details will be announced later. does not condone or review every comment. Read more in our Commenter Policy Agreement

  • Keep it clean. Comments that are obscene, vulgar or sexually oriented will be removed. Creative spelling of such terms or implied use of such language is banned, also.
  • Don't threaten to hurt or kill anyone.
  • Be nice. No racism, sexism or any other sort of -ism that degrades another person.
  • Harassing comments. If you are the subject of a harassing comment or personal attack by another user, do not respond in-kind. Use the "Report comment abuse" link below to report offensive comments.
  • Share what you know. Give us your eyewitness accounts, background, observations and history.
  • Do not libel anyone. Libel is writing something false about someone that damages that person's reputation.
  • Ask questions. What more do you want to know about the story?
  • Stay focused. Keep on the story's topic.
  • Help us get it right. If you spot a factual error or misspelling, email or call 1-800-362-6712.
  • Remember, this is our site. We set the rules, and we reserve the right to remove any comments that we deem inappropriate.

Report comment abuse