The host Cheesemakers won the 10-team title with 178.5 points, while Clinton was second with 155. Whitewater was third with 150, and Craig High was fourth with 146.

Furseth ran his season record to 25-0 in winning the 130-pound title. The junior pinned Cuba City’s Kyle Arthofer in the championship match.

At 135 pounds, Craig’s Chris Pierce won the title with a 4-2 win over Cuba City’s Dillon Schmieder.

Banh is 29-0 after easily winning at 112. The junior beat Cuba City’s Tyler Jenamann, 16-6, in the championship match.

Orfordville Parkview’s Alex Hauri was the champion at 103, and Whitewater’s Nick Romani was the winner at 189.

Monroe Invitational


Monroe 178.5, Clinton 155, Whitewater 150, Janesville Craig 146, Darlington 145, Cuba City 133.5, Orfordville Parkview 101, Belmont-Platteville 94.5, Walworth Big Foot 59, Poynette 44.


103—Title: Alex Hauri (OP) pinned Aaron Hesgard (Mon), 3:43; Third: Adam Niehaus (BP) pinned Colin Leu (JC), 4:16.

112—Title: Daniel Banh (Cl) major dec. over Tyler Jenamann (CC), 16-6; Third: Bo Brunkow (Dar) pinned Jake Kanack (Wh) 3:53.

119—Title: Bob Donar (CC) won by injury default over Devin Malott (Dar); Third: Kevin Klopfenstein (Mon) dec. Kyle Upmann (JC), 3-0.

125—Title: Jarod Donar (CC) dec. Jamie Kumlien (JC), 13-9; Third: Brandon Wixom (Cl) pinned Nick Cawkins (OP), :33.

130—Title: Siven Furseth (JC) pinned Kyle Arthofer (CC), 2:54; Third: Brendan Neal (OP) dec. Gavin Volbrecht (BF), 3-1.

135—Title: Chris Pierce (JC) dec. Dillon Schmieder (CC), 4-2; Third: Salvador Carranza (Cl) pinned Derek Gerber (OP), 4:55.

140—Title: Justin Mislivecek (Poy) pinned Matt McDaniel (Dar), 1:51; Third: Dane Brandl (Cl) dec. Bryan Edwards (Wh), 6-4.

145—Title: Dylan Schwitz (Mon) pinned Ethan Miles (Wh), 1:50; Third: Sean Cronin (Dar) pinned Ryan Triplett (OP), 1:08.

152—Title: Mason Goff (Mon) won by injury default over Alex Loofboro (Wh); Third: John Frederick (CC) dec. Coty Lange (dar), 5-3.

160—Title: Dusty Jentz (BP) tech. fall over Bo Croswell (BF), 21-6; Third: Connor Nimmow (Wh) dec. Trevor Russell (Cl), 11-8.

171—Title: Josh Eastlick (BP) dec. Dillon Weckerly (Mon), 3-0; Third: Billy Engen (OP) pinned Tanner Bell (Cl), 1:49.

189—Title: Nick Romani (Wh) pinned Drilon Grajcevci (JC), 5:07; Third: Josh Mayer (Mon) pinned Tanner Andrews (Dar), 5:31.

215—Title: David Stone (BP) dec. Cory Kundert (Mon), 8-4; Third: Brandon Heins (Dar) dec. Mike Spaulding (JC), 4-3.

285—Title: Nick Walker (Mon) dec. Mark Brugger (Dar), 5-2; Third: Chris Rousch (Cl) pinned Mike Loeffelholz (CC), 3:45. does not condone or review every comment. Read more in our Commenter Policy Agreement

  • Keep it clean. Comments that are obscene, vulgar or sexually oriented will be removed. Creative spelling of such terms or implied use of such language is banned, also.
  • Don't threaten to hurt or kill anyone.
  • Be nice. No racism, sexism or any other sort of -ism that degrades another person.
  • Harassing comments. If you are the subject of a harassing comment or personal attack by another user, do not respond in-kind. Use the "Report comment abuse" link below to report offensive comments.
  • Share what you know. Give us your eyewitness accounts, background, observations and history.
  • Do not libel anyone. Libel is writing something false about someone that damages that person's reputation.
  • Ask questions. What more do you want to know about the story?
  • Stay focused. Keep on the story's topic.
  • Help us get it right. If you spot a factual error or misspelling, email or call 1-800-362-6712.
  • Remember, this is our site. We set the rules, and we reserve the right to remove any comments that we deem inappropriate.

Report comment abuse