Elkhorn names new superintendent

Print Print
Stan Milam
Tuesday, January 15, 2013

— Jason Tadlock, administrator at Wheatland School District, was named the new Elkhorn Area School District administrator Monday.

The Elkhorn School Board announced at its regular board meeting it had unanimously chosen Tadlock, who supervises Wheatland, a K4-8 district in Kenosha County. He will assume his new duties at the end of the school year when Elkhorn Superintendent Gregory Wescott retires. Wescott announced his retirement Aug. 13.

"I've tried to always do what's best for the district, and I think I leave the district in good hands," Wescott said. "Board members were looking for a good fit with the board and staff.

"There was some concern that the candidate pool was not deep, but I reminded board members they needed only one, the right one," he said. "I think they got that."

Tadlock has a degree in educational administration from UW-Superior. He served as principal of New Glarus Middle and High School from 2006 to 2010 when he became administrator at Wheatland.

Tadlock was chosen at the end of a six-month process that began with the Wisconsin Association of School Boards conducting a search for the district. The board created a local screening committee that included board members, staff, parents and students.

The committee narrowed the candidates down to four, and the board decided to interview two candidates: Tadlock and Salem School District Administrator David Milz.

Board members interviewed and visited the finalists in their home districts prior to a January 10 board meeting to make a final decision.

Wescott ends a 40-year career in public education, the past 16 as Elkhorn administrator. He was principal at Delavan-Darien High School before assuming the top spot at Elkhorn.

Last updated: 8:02 am Monday, April 29, 2013

Print Print