Hrycay takes second at Midwest Invitational

Print Print
John Barry
Sunday, September 23, 2012

— The Midwest Invitational continues to get bigger and better.

The nation’s oldest high school cross country meet welcomed a record 2,913 athletes here Saturday, and none were more impressive than Chandler Diffee.

The Madison La Follette senior defended his boys 5,000-meter title by sprinting past Janesville Craig’s Spencer Hrycay the last 800 meters of the Blackhawk Golf Course layout. Diffee, the defending WIAA Division 1 state cross country champion, finished with a time of 15:34.70. Hrycay was second in 15:41.20.

Diffee’s win helped the Lancers capture the boys team title with 115 points. Big Eight Conference foe Madison West was second with 158, while host Craig was 10th with 278.

Top-ranked Hartland Arrowhead, thanks to four runners finishing in the top 10, coasted to the girls team title with 38 points. Defending Midwest champion Neenah was second with 66.

Alison Parker made it a family affair in the girls 4,000-meter race. The Neenah senior won with a time of 14:33.09, while younger sisters, Jennifer, was second at 14:34.77 and Jessica, seventh.

Janesville Parker’s Miranda Slaback was the top city finisher as the senior came in 26th in leading the Viking girls to a 16th-place finish.

Hrycay, a senior, led throughout the boys race before Diffee made his move with about 1,200 meters left in the race.

“If I was going to lose to anyone, I’m glad it was him,” Hrycay said of Diffee. “He just closes so well the last 800 meters that it makes it really tough to beat him.

“I’m pleased with my outcome, though. I was hoping to get a school-record time, but the first mile wasn’t fast enough. I still have a couple of meets left to try and break it.”

Diffee, who beat the Blackhawk course record-holder and 2012 Craig graduate Tommy Meister in last year’s Midwest race, is unbeaten this season. He said time wasn’t as important as defending his title.

“I’m just looking at each race as trying to get a win and to help our team out as much as I can,” Diffee said.

“This is a fast course with wide turns, very little hills and a great crowd everywhere. I think everybody really enjoys coming here and running in this meet.”

Alison Parker coasted to the girls individual title. She was sixth a year ago and finished fourth as a sophomore.

Trailing after the first mile, Alison made her move just before the halfway point of the race and held off her younger sister for the win.

“Our coach told us to go out conservative and just be patient,” Alison said. “We knew the race was going to go out fast, so we had to just concentrate on positioning.

“At one point, probably about halfway through the race, I just took a couple of deep breaths to help me relax and just decided to go for it.”



Madison La Follette 115, Madison West 158, Hartland Arrowhead 168, La Crosse Logan 176, Dubuque Senior (Iowa) 185, Wisconsin Lutheran 245, Milwaukee Marquette 268, Mequon Homestead 270, Oconomowoc 272, Janesville Craig 278, West Bend West 310, Lake Park (Ill.) 314, Darlington 391, Waunakee 422, Houston Mac Arthur (Texas) 431, Dodgeville-Mineral Point 466, Verona 491, Madison Memorial 512, Wauwatosa East 526, Monroe 548, Middleton 589, Neenah 592, Mukwonago 650, Janesville Parker 667, Fort Atkinson 679, Mount Horeb 681, Fond du Lac 742, Sun Prairie 796, Waukesha Catholic Memorial 804, Platteville 822, Rockford Guilford (Ill.) 864, Beaver Dam 885, Stoughton 905, Whitewater 916, Oregon 956, Monona Grove 991, Whitnall 1,022, Milton 1,041, Delavan-Darien 1,112.


(5,000 meters)

1. Chandler Diffee (La Follette), 15:34.70; 2. Spencer Hrycay (Craig), 15:41.20; 3. Dylan Eigenberger (Dubuque), 15:44.60; 4. Ryan Nameth (Verona), 15:45.60; 5. Olin Hacker (Madison West), 15:47.30; 6. Jake Dubnicka (Arrowhead), 15:47.50; 7. Trevor Wunnicke (Dodgeville), 15:57.00; 8. Tyson Miehe (Darlington), 15:59.20; 9. Alec Miller (West Bend West), 16:01.60; 10. Brett Harms (Whitewater), 16:02.80.

n Other Craig finishers: 13. Evan Lalor, 16:10; 28. Hunter Salmon, 16:29; 102. Alec McCann 17:29; 133. Max Snyder, 17:42.

n Parker top finishers: 33. Dane Tyler, 16:39; 57. Keegan McCluskey, 16:57.

n Fort Atkinson top finisher: 53. Eric Bender, 16:55.

n Milton top finisher: 183. Chris Wecker, 18:19.

n Delavan-Darien top finisher: 175. Sam Logterman, 18:14.


Hartland Arrowhead 38, Neenah 66, Madison West 131, Dodgeville-Mineral Point 141, Middleton 200, West Bend West 239, Wisconsin Lutheran 268, Dubuque Senior (Iowa) 270, Oconomowoc 307, Verona 356, Sun Prairie 366, Madison Memorial 381, Oregon 395, La Crosse Logan 430, Darlington 445, Janesville Parker 462, Beaver Dam 480, Westby 499, Stoughton 501, Wauwatosa East 515, Waunakee 544, Monona Grove 585, Mount Horeb 589, Mukwonago 622, Fond du Lac 647, Whitnall 667, Houston Mac Arthur (Texas) 668, DeForest 710, Janesville Craig 764, Platteville 772, Monroe 808, Fort Atkinson 880, Milton 990, Beloit Memorial 1,011, Rockford Guilford 1,026.


(4,000 meters)

1. Alison Parker (Neenah), 14:33.09; 2. Jennifer Parker (Neenah), 14:34.77; 3. Lea Patek (Arrowhead), 14:35.38; 4. Marlie Houston (Oconomowoc), 14:38.58; 5. Payton Wesley (Arrowhead), 14:42.72; 6. Natalie Burant (Arrowhead), 14:44.18; 7. Jessica Parker (Neenah), 14:45.26; 8. Jackie Dubnicka (Arrowhead), 14:46.15; 9. Gina Sereno (Madison West), 14:50.59; 10. Isabel Seidel (Lake School), 14:50.70.


Last updated: 4:35 pm Tuesday, August 27, 2013

Print Print