Janesville wins lacrosse playoff opener

Print Print
Gazette staff
Wednesday, May 30, 2012
— The Janesville Lacrosse Club waited until the first round of the playoffs before notching its first victory of the season.

The Bluebirds’ reward is a date with top-ranked Hartland Arrowhead in the next round.

Janesville (1-14) routed Wauwatosa, 16-1, Tuesday night at Optimist Park in the opening round of the Wisconsin Lacrosse Federation state tournament.

“It was by far our best effort of the season,” said Janesville coach Andrew Beaumont. “We got off to a great start and kept the intensity level up.”

Janesville won the ground-ball battle, 44-11, and outshot Wauwatosa, 52-7. Ten different players scored for Janesville.

Nick Krueger led the way with four goals and two assists. Eric Monroe added three goals and three assists.

Also finding net for the Bluebirds were Joshua Greene, Winn Lyons, Sam Fischer, Jared Krueger, Taylor Stokes, Brody Feggestad, Colin Leu and Michael Rainiero.

Janesville goalie Matt Johnson was rarely tested and had four saves.

Janesville will travel to Hartland Arrowhead for a 5:30 p.m. game Thursday. The Warhawks (17-1) are the top-ranked team in the state according to laxpower.com. Their only loss this season was to Illinois’ Glenbrook North High School.

Last updated: 8:15 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print