Warhawks’ Davis on WIAC first team

Print Print
Gazette staff
Wednesday, March 2, 2011

UW-Whitewater junior center Chris Davis has been named to the 2011 All-Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference basketball first team.

Other Warhawk players to be honored were junior forward Alex Edmunds, who earned honorable mention, and senior point guard Phil Negri, who shared the co-recipient of the Max Sparger Scholar Athlete Award.

Davis, a Madison East High graduate, averaged 21.3 points and 9.0 rebounds per game. He ranked second in the WIAC in both scoring and rebounding.

He was also sixth in free throw percentage (.821), third in blocked shots (1.12 per game), and ninth in steals (1.35 per game).

His 553 points this season were the 14th highest in Whitewater history. His 233 rebounds were the 20th highest all-time.

Davis had a season-high 35 points against UW-Oshkosh on Feb. 16.

Edmunds averaged 10.1 points and 5.4 rebounds. He shot 74.2 percent from the line and a team-best 55.1 percent from the floor.

Negri earned a share of the Max Sparger Scholar Athlete Award, given to the athlete that best combines academic excellence with participation in intercollegiate athletics for each sport.

Negri played the 2010-2011 season as a graduate student in UW-W’s College of Business and Economics after graduating in three years with a degree in finance and a 3.94 (out of 4.0) cumulative grade point as an undergraduate.

He was named to the dean’s list every semester as an undergraduate, earned the Chancellor’s Scholar Athlete Award, was on the WIAC Scholastic Honor Roll all three years, and earned the UW-W Student Athlete Achievement Award every year.

Negri started every game this season, averaging a team-best 3.2 assists per game and 4.5 points per game.

Negri’s second honor came with his selection as UW-Whitewater’s representative on the All-Sportsmanship Team.

All-WIAC Men


Guards— Tony Mane, La Crosse, sr.; Jerrel Harris, Stevens Point, soph.; Nick Allen, Platteville, sr.; Shane Manor, River Falls, jr.; Eric Hostetter, Stout, sr.

Guards/Forwards— Jake Smith, Superior, sr.

Forwards—Chris Davis, Whitewater, jr.; Jake Voeltz, River Falls, sr.; Louis Hurd, Stevens Point, sr.; Nick Krull, Stevens Point, sr.


Guards—Jontae Koonkaew, River Falls, sr.; Antone Byrd, Whitewater, soph.; Marcus Ruh, Eau Claire, soph.; Dan Culy, Superior, sr.

Forwards—John Flanigan, Oshkosh, jr.; Eric Wall, Platteville, sr.; Alex Edmunds, Whitewater, jr.; Chas Cross, Platteville, fr.; Jordan Rumpel, La Crosse, jr.

Center—Amadou Fofana, Eau Claire, sr.


Guards—Jeff Heiden, La Crosse, jr.; Danny Johnson, River Falls, sr.; Phil Negri, Whitewater, sr.; Vinny Ritchay, Stevens Point, sr.; Cory Wittwer, Oshkosh, sr.

Forwards— Mahlon Thomas, Stout, sr.; Matt Weik, Platteville, jr.

Centers—Amadou Fofana, Eau Claire, sr.; Greg Roeder, Superior, sr.

Co-Players of the Year—Tony Mane, La Crosse, and Jake Smith, Superior.

Coach of the Year—Jeff Berkhof, River Falls.

Max Sparger Co-Scholar-Athletes—Tony Mane, La Crosse; Phil Negri, Whitewater.

Last updated: 4:51 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print