Zenyatta wins Horse of Year

Print Print
Associated Press
Tuesday, January 18, 2011
— Moments after the Eclipse Awards ended Monday night, Zenyatta owner Ann Moss came off the stage eager to call her mare in Kentucky. They keep in touch by video phone.

“I just can’t wait to tell her,” a beaming Moss said. “We won!”

Zenyatta beat Blame to win Horse of the Year, besting the only opponent ever to defeat her on the track. The award caps a remarkable career for the popular Zenyatta, one of the sport’s greatest mares. She was 19-0 before losing her final race to Blame in the Breeders’ Cup Classic last November.

Zenyatta received 128 votes and Blame 102. Zenyatta was runner-up for Horse of the Year in 2008 and 2009.

Other Eclipse Award winners included Todd Pletcher as outstanding trainer, Ramon Dominguez as outstanding jockey, WinStar Farm as outstanding owner and Adena Springs as outstanding breeder. Blame was chosen top older male. Zenyatta was chosen top older female for the third year in a row.

Last updated: 4:03 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print