Fifth candidate to join race for school board

Print Print
Wednesday, December 29, 2010
— Five people have now declared their intention to run for three seats on the Janesville School Board.

Kirk Henry, 21, took out candidacy papers Tuesday.

Others who are gathering nomination signatures are Scott Feldt; Fred Shahlapour; Bill Sodemann, the current board president; and Kevin Murray, an incumbent board member.

Board member Peggy Sheridan is not seeking re-election.

Henry, of 1617 Randolph Road, No. 2, is a 2007 graduate of Craig High School. He said he moved back to Janesville last summer after studying at Moraine Park Technical College.

Henry said he is studying information technology at UW-Whitewater.

Candidates must gather at least 100 signatures and file nomination papers by Tuesday to be listed on the April 5 ballot.

Anyone interested in running should contact Nancy Hewes, assistant board clerk, at the Educational Services Center, 527 S. Franklin St., (608) 743-5056.

Last updated: 3:43 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print