MacDowell Club hosts 2014 Federation Music Festival

Print Print
Gazette staff
Friday, March 21, 2014

The 2014 Wisconsin Federation of Music Clubs Festival, hosted by the Janesville MacDowell Music Club, was held Feb. 8, at The Wisconsin Center for the Blind and Visually Impaired and the Janesville Woman's Club.

Federation Music Festivals, in conjunction with the National Federation of Music Clubs, are held throughout the United States each year.

This year in Janesville, 340 students of 32 local teachers participated in 17 separate events in piano, voice, strings and instrumental.

Federation teachers who entered students were: Delight Antos, Joanne Bauman, Erik Berg, Robyn Doege-Brennan, Barbara Eckerman, Jerod Edwardson, Anna Falk, Rita Farris, Kristin Fife, Charlotte Hawley, Matthew Hollingsworth, Alison Jewer, Lauri Knapton, Jo Ann Koltyk, Sami Lampe, Jan Loucks, Jayne Lubke, Brad Lutton, Jessica May, Ashlynn Mitchell, Martha Morehart, David Newman, Ian Nie, Susan Peterson, Fran Thorpe Peyer, Sue Renkas, Carol Roy, Janet Schroeder, Audrey Thorson, Travis Vandiver, Anne Weirich, and Ellen Westlund.

First Gold Cups were awarded to 42 students; Second Gold Cups were awarded to 20 students; Third Gold Cups were awarded to five students, and a Fourth Gold Cup awarded to one student. To achieve the 15 points needed for a Cup, the student must have received three years of Superior ratings or lesser ratings accumulated over four or more years.

These students were awarded Gold Cups: 4th Cup in Violin Solo-David Dyble; 3rd Cup in Piano Solo-Cady Gansen, Alison Hegle, Andrew Loftus, Keegan Thiele, and Colleen Toberman; 2nd Cup in Piano Solo-Cailyn Austin, Alie Blaser, Timothy Buechler, Anneka Dorn, Natalie Gunnink, Olivia Heilman, Lucia Hyzer, Allison O'Brien, Andrew Reilly, Isabella Schaefer, Haley Schmidt, Jordyn Schroeder, Maggie Setterstrom, Elizabeth Skatrud, Jennifer Tan; 2nd Cup in Violin Solo-Emma Campbell, Elyssa Hermanson, Hilary Kraus, Anna Quade; 2nd Cup in Vocal Musical Theater Alie Blaser; 1st Cup in Piano Solo-Gwendolyn Aldrich, Bethany Bailey, Hannah Beahm, Carissa Choi, RyLee Church, Thomas Devine, Rebecca Fish, Nicholas Galvan, Cammi Ganshert, Megan Gille, Liam Griffin, Madeline Grund, Robert Knilans, Julie Lynes,Thomas Lyon, Natalie Mar, Chloe Martin, Connor Martin, Benjamin May, Bria McDade, Karalynn Pingel, Ian Rodriguez, Claire Rusert, Kevin Schmidt, Julia Steinke, Conor Stone, Nathan Stout, Eric Tabaka, Linnea Tabaka, Anna Tan, David Vantress, Lauren Weigel, Peter Weirich, Emily Westman, Nora Wolf; 1st Cup in Piano Hymn Play-Molly Minder; 1st Cup in Piano Sight Playing-Maggie Setterstrom, Eric Tabaka; 1st Cup in Violin Duet-Gabriel Hanna, Kaitlyn Knapton; 1st Cup in Vocal Musical Theater-Kaitlyn Knapton, Megan Tatroe.

Last updated: 2:57 pm Friday, March 21, 2014

Print Print