Boys high school basketball: Craig's Ngobi earns first-team honors

Comments Comments Print Print
Gazette staff
Tuesday, March 11, 2014

Jerry Ngobi has earned a spot among the Big Eight’s best.

The Janesville Craig guard was named All-Big Eight first team on Monday.

Ngobi, a 6-foot-1 senior, averaged 15.8 points and 3.7 rebounds per game in leading the Cougars to a tie for third place in the conference. The UW-Whitewater recruit had six games of 20 or more points, including a season-high 24 in a win against Madison East.

“In the last three years, Jerry has helped to elevate the Craig basketball program through his tireless work ethic and positive leadership,” Craig coach Mike Miller said. “He was not only a vocal leader, but a leader by example.

“He will be greatly missed, but we hope for bigger and better things for him at the University of Whitewater.”

Ngobi is joined on the first team by senior Darrlyn Willis of Madison Memorial, junior Nick Noskowiak of Sun Prairie, senior Malik Clements of Madison West and senior Derek Rongstad of Middleton.

Willis, a silky smooth 6-7 forward, averaged 17.3 points per game in leading the Spartans to their 11th straight Big Eight title.

Memorial’s Steve Collins was voted Coach of the Year.

Janesville Parker senior Adam Thompson and Craig senior Mike Murphy were named all-conference third team.


First Team

Name                           Yr. School

Darrlyn Wills               Sr. Memorial

Nick Noskowiak          Jr. Sun Prairie

Malik Clements           Sr. West

Derek Rongstad         Sr. Middleton

Jerry Ngobi                 Sr. Craig

Second Team

Darold Thomas           Jr. La Follette

Andre Neal                  Sr. Beloit

Tyler Lindquist           Sr. Memorial

Cole Schmitz              So. Verona

JT Ruffin                       Jr. Sun Prairie

Third Team

Draylen Fair                 Sr. Beloit

Adam Thompson      Sr. Parker

Shareef Smith             Jr. Memorial

Mike Murphy             Sr. Craig

Cortez McCree             Jr. La Follette

• Player of the Year—Darrlyn Willis, Memorial.

 Coach of the Year—Steve Collins, Memorial.

Honorable mention

Shane Walden, sr., Sun Prairie; Terrell McFadden, sr., West; Mitch Flora, sr., Verona; Maurice Ewing, sr., La Follette; Martin Lackey, sr., East; Malik Robinson, jr., Sun Prairie; Max Oelerich, sr., Middleton; Will Kellerman, jr., Verona; Luke Schafer, sr., Middleton.

Final standings

Madison Memorial, 17-1; Sun Prairie, 12-6; Madison West, 10-8; Beloit Memorial, 10-8; Janesville Craig, 10-8; Verona, 9-9; Middleton, 9-9; Madison La Follette, 7-11; Madison East, 4-14; Janesville Parker, 2-16.

Comments Comments Print Print