Youth hockey: Janesville has a state champion

Comments Comments Print Print
Gazette staff
Tuesday, March 11, 2014

Janesville has always been known as the City of Champions.

Last weekend, the city added another championship to its trophy case.

Janesville’s Youth Hockey Squirt A team won the state 2A Squirt level title in Hayward.

The Squirt A team, playing in the 9-and-10-year-old division, won the Region 4 title in February before adding the state title last weekend.

Janesville beat Wisconsin Rapids, 3-2, in its state quarterfinal game, and followed that up by rallying for 5-4 overtime win over Tomah in the semifinal game.

In the state title game, Janesville shut out Arrowhead, 3-0, behind goalie Jacob Blaser.

The state title was the first for a Janesville Youth Hockey team since 2004.

Members of the state championship Squirt A team are Blaser, Ian Perkins, Caiden Kennedy, Lucas Vogt, Wyatt Frison, JJ Runde, Jonah Aegerter, Jake Schaffner, Carson Bruhn, Luke Hessanauer, Walker Kula, Gannon Kilgoraand Dalton Swenson.

Coaches are Jim Runde, Dan Kulas, Joe Frison, Tom Schaffner, Steve Perkins and Chad Kilgora.

Comments Comments Print Print