Nominees announced for Janesville Area Creativity Awards

Comments Comments Print Print
Gazette staff
Friday, January 3, 2014

JANESVILLE—The United Arts Alliance has announced nominees for the 2014 Janesville Area Creativity Awards.

The awards serve to honor local artists and help the United Arts Alliance raise money for scholarships, according to a new release from the organization.

The awards show will be from 6 to 10 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 1. Doors will open at 6 p.m. to allow for voting and sampling treats by culinary artists. A cash bar will be available.

The show will feature performances by several of the nominees as well as a guest performance by the Craig High School jazz band.

There are two categories of awards: judged and people's choice. 

Judged awards will be picked by a panel of experts. People's choice awards are chosen by event attendees who vote with their dollars.

Tickets are $8.

The judged categories awards are:

-- Roots Award, honoring artists or performers who are from Janesville but moved away and made a name for themselves in their chosen industry. The nominees are Callie Schouten, Don Zolidas, and Alex and Nathan Burkart.

-- Emerging Star Award, honoring artists 18 and younger. The nominees are Chandler Cook, Kelcie Baior, Ross Sroda and Jessica Minter

--Fine Arts Educator Award nominees are Karen Smerlinski, Kennedy School; Maryanne Messier, Monroe Elementary; Cindy Ward, Jackson Elementary; and Amy Cossette, Craig High School.

--Performing Arts Educator Award nominees are Zac Curtis, UW-Rock County; Sarah Baior, First Position Dance Studio; and Adrian Farris, Monroe Elementary.

Categories in the People's Choice Awards include dance studio, actor, actress, live band, production, photographer, Dennis Vechinsky Award for Theatre Production, creative writer, culinary artists, solo performer, fine artist, original film and original song.

Comments Comments Print Print