Craig wrestling shuts out Memorial; Beloit tops Parker

Comments Comments Print Print
Gazette staff
Wednesday, December 18, 2013

Janesville Craig scored the maximum amount of points possible during its Big Eight Conference dual wrestling match against visiting Madison Memorial on Tuesday night.

The Cougars would have welcomed more of a workout.

Craig registered pins in the four matches that took place and combined with 10 forfeits collected an 84-0 victory over the Spartans.

Kyle LeCaptain (138), Logan Baker (160), Aaron Maresch (182) and Owen Ross (285) were the Cougar wrestlers who earned pins on the evening.

Craig is 2-0 in the Big Eight.

The Cougars participate in the Ed Steck Tournament in West Allis on Friday and Saturday.


106—Airk Furseth (JC) won by forfeit. 113—Nate Farrell (JC) won by forfeit. 119—Stone Klingamon (JC) won by forfeit. 126—Brandon Daniels (JC) won by forfeit. 132—Deon Newson (JC) won by forfeit; 138—Kyle LeCaptain (JC) pinned Connor Jones, 3:16.

145—Tanner Chilson (JC) won by forfeit; 152—Zach Mulrooney (JC) won by forfeit; 160—Logan Baker (JC) pinned Karter Etchin, 1:38; 170—Derik Hanewold (JC) won by forfeit; 182—Aaron Maresch (JC) pinned Isaac Kysley, 2:55; 195—Alex McNall (JC) won by forfeit; 220—Brock Bennett (JC) won by forfeit; 285—Owen Ross (JC) pinned Cole White, :37.

Starting weight—160.


Beloit 48, Parker 30—The Vikings got pins from Chandler Quade, Stephen Presti, Alex Miller and Scott Van Der Haegen but came up short in their Big Eight dual meet with Beloit.

Dylan Siener and Gage Burdick also won for Parker, which fell to 0-2 in the conference.

“We had to forfeit two matches and that was pretty much the difference overall,” Parker coach Danny Jackson said. “I was really happy, though, with the effort I got from those that did wrestle.”


106—Tyler Dupuis (B) pinned Trever Cheney, 3:27; 113—Edwin Chavez (B) pinned Travis Thornton, :20; 120—Chandler Quade (P) pinned Kevin Kingslien, 1:47; 126—Dylan Siener (P) dec. Jesus Luna, 7-0; 132—Gage Burdick (P) dec. Gerardo Badillo, 9-3; Monty Rice (B) pinned Tyler Thornton, 6:14; 145—C.J. Grahn (B) pinned Brandon Gogolla, 4:46.

152—Hayden Scharmer (B) pinned Ty Randles, 1:29; 160—Mark Hallett (B) pinned Lee Marshall, 5:00; 170—Stephen Presti (P) pinned Erik Spurgen, 2:45; 182—Alex Miller (P) pinned Ricky Williams, 2:57; 195—Marquel Johnson (B) won by forfeit; 220—Nick Somers (B) won by forfeit; 285—Scott Van Der Haegen (P) pinned Jordin Groth, 1:26.

Comments Comments Print Print