Brackets set for high school football playoffs

Comments Comments Print Print
Gazette staff
Saturday, October 19, 2013

Nine area high school football teams made the WIAA playoffs, including Milton, Elkhorn and Clinton, who each got in thanks to a victory in their final regular-season games Friday.

The WIAA released the seven divisional brackets Saturday.

Lake Geneva Badger is the area's lone Division 1 team and, as a No. 3 seed, will host Racine Horlick at 7 p.m. Friday. The Badgers, the lowest-enrollment school in Division 1, finished 7-2 overall and 6-1 in the Southern Lakes Conference, good for a three-way share of the conference championship. Horlick was 4-5 overall, but 4-3 in the Southeast Conference thanks to a Friday-night victory over Kenosha Indian Trail.

Five local teams are part of the Division 3 bracket.

Edgerton (8-1, 7-0 Rock Valley North) is a No. 4 seed and will host conference rival Jefferson (7-2, 5-2) at 7 p.m. on Friday. The Crimson Tide won 28-13 on the road on Sept. 20, setting up their run to the conference crown.

The winner of that game will face the winner of top seed Monona Grove and No. 8-seed Milton. The Red Hawks were 3-6 overall, but topped Stoughton, 6-3, on Friday to finish 3-3 in conference, earning a tournament bid. The two teams met in Week 8 of the regular season, with Monona Grove winning at home, 14-7.

On the other half of that bracket, Elkhorn travels to No. 3-seed Pewaukee for a 7 p.m. game Friday. The Elks topped Burlington on Friday to earn a 4-3 Southern Lakes mark and a spot in the postseason for the first time since 2008. Pewaukee went 5-1 to finish second in the Woodlands West.

In a different section of the Division 3 bracket, Evansville/Albany will travel to La Crosse Logan, though a date and time for the game had not yet been posted Saturday. The Blue Devils went 5-4 overall and 4-3 in the RVC North. Logan went 7-2 and its 5-1 mark was good for second place in the Mississippi Valley.

Three area teams are part of the Division 4 bracket, led by unbeaten Big Foot. The Chiefs (9-0, 5-0 RVC South) are a No. 1 seed and will host University School of Milwaukee at 7 p.m. on Friday. University School finished 5-2 to finish third in the Midwest Classic Conference.

The winner of that game will face the winner of Clinton and New Glarus/Monticello, which also play at 7 p.m. The Cougars cruised past Orfordville Parkview on Friday night to finish 3-2 in the RVC South and clinch a spot. New Glarus/Monticello shut out Cambridge on Friday to win the Capitol South Conference at 5-1.

In the other half of that bracket, No. 2-seeded Brodhead/Juda will host Saint Thomas More. The Cardinals lost to Big Foot on Friday on the road, but went 7-2 overall. Saint Thomas More finished fourth in the Metro Classic at 4-3.

WIAA football playoffs

Friday's area schedule


(6) Racine Horlick (4-5, 4-3 Southeast) at (3) Lake Geneva Badger (7-2, 6-1 Southern Lakes), 7 p.m.


(8) Milton (3-6, 3-3 Badger South) at (1) Monona Grove (9-0, 6-0 Badger South), 7 p.m.

(5) Jefferson (7-2, 5-2 Rock Valley North) at (4) Edgerton (8-1, 7-0, Rock Valley North), 7 p.m.

(6) Elkhorn (5-4, 4-3 Southern Lakes) at (3) Pewaukee (7-2, 5-2 Woodlands West), 7 p.m.

(6) Evansville/Albany (5-4, 4-3 Rock Valley North) at (3) La Crosse Logan (7-2, 5-1 Mississippi Valley), TBD


(8) University School of Milwaukee (6-3, 5-2 Midwest Classic) at (1) Big Foot (9-0, 5-0 Rock Valley South), 7 p.m.

(5) Clinton (5-4, 3-2 Rock Valley South) at (4) New Glarus/Monticello (5-4, 4-1 Capitol South), 7 p.m.

(7) Saint Thomas More (6-3, 4-3 Metro Classic) at Brodhead/Juda (7-2, 4-1 Rock Valley South), 7 p.m.

Comments Comments Print Print