Dominant Rage capture league title

Comments Comments Print Print
Gazette staff
Saturday, September 14, 2013

WAUWATOSA—The game wasn't as easy as the first meeting between the teams, but the end result was an Iron Bowl championship for the Rock County Rage.

A roughing-the-kicker penalty gave Rock County another chance, and the team took advantage when Trey Shaw scored on a 2-yard run with 29 seconds to play, giving the Rage a 22-14 victory over Milwaukee in the Ironman Football League championship game Saturday night.

The Rage finished 11-1, outscoring opponents, 506-103. Rock County won the league title in its first season in the league.

Rock County had defeated Milwaukee, 55-7, in the regular season, but Saturday's game was much more of a challenge. Jermar Ayers caught scoring passes of 22 and 19 yards from Roberts to get the Rage even at 14-14 going into the final quarter.

The Rage had to punt from their own 40 with 1:50 left in regulation, but a Hurricane defender ran into punter Derek Wickhem. Wickhem tore his ACL on the play.

With new life, Rock County took seven plays to score. Shaw ran in from two yards away, and Roberts converted on a two-point conversion run to make the final, 22-14.

Roberts completed nine of 16 passes for 125 yards and two touchdowns, both to Ayers. Ayers caught four passes for 76 yards.

Roberts also led the team in rushing with 119 yards on 15 carries.

Nick Hammon had three sacks and a fumble recovery to lead the Rage defense. Greg Davis had two sacks and a fumble recovery, while John Adams and Isaiah Irving each had a fumble recovery.


Milwaukee                      0       14                                   0 0—14

Rock County                  0         7                                   7 8—22

Rage scoring summary: RC—Jermar Ayers, 22 pass from Dan Roberts (Derek Wickhem kick). RC—Ayers, 19 pass from Roberts (Wickhem kick). RC—Trey Shaw, 2 run (Roberts run).

Last updated: 11:27 pm Saturday, September 14, 2013

Comments Comments Print Print