Sippy, Craig girls advance to state

Comments Comments Print Print
John Barry
Saturday, October 21, 2017

State bound!

Led by Peyton Sippy's second-place finish, Janesville Craig's girls cross country is headed back to the WIAA State Meet.

Craig had 70 points to finish second at the Division 1 Beloit Sectional on Saturday and earn the program's first state bid since 2009. Sun Prairie ran away with the team title with 19 points. The Cardinals' top five runners finished sixth or better, led by champion Katie Rose Blachowicz.

Milton's Lauren Talabec finished 10th in the girls race and also earned an automatic state bid.

Craig freshman Bryan Bloomquist was 10th in the boys race and will also get a chance to run at state.

The Craig girls have been ranked all season, and co-head coach Brian Lawton said the team had high hopes of returning to state.

"This was a long time coming," Lawton said. "The girls worked hard and really performed well as a team today. We had five runners in the top 20."

Sippy once again led the way. The senior led the 5,000-meter race at the halfway point and was not too concerned with Blachowicz passing her and eventually winning in 18:00.2. Sippy's time was 18:09.1.

"The main goal wasn't about time or a PR, the main goal today was about the team," Sippy said. "Anything that you were thinking individually, you had to put aside.

"Our ultimate goal all season was to get the team to state. And the cards played out for us today."

Lauren Shanks (14), Madalyn Arrowood (17), Ellie Lornez (18) and Gabriella Petruzzello (19) rounded out Craig's impressive performance.

Talabec earned a berth as one of the five additional qualifiers with a time of 19:18.2.

Janesville Parker's Catie Gage just missed qualifying, finishing 13th overall and seventh out of the runners on the non-qualifying teams.

Charlie Ellenbecker led Monona Grove to the boys team title. The Silver Eagles finished with 53 points, with Sun Prairie second with 64. Ellenbecker won the 5,000-meter race with a time of 16:00.0.

Bloomquist has come on strong at the end of the season and ran a PR time of 16:31 Saturday to advance to state. Craig was sixth overall with 151.

Division 1 Beloit sectional


Monona Grove 53, Sun Prairie 64, Oconomowoc 84, Madison La Follette 87, Watertown 108, Janesville Craig 151, Kettle Moraine 165, Fort Atkinson 199, Milton 269, Elkhorn 281, Janesville Parker 295, Beloit Memorial 354.


1. Charlie Ellenbecker (Monona Grove), 16:00; 2. Ash Francis (Sun Prairie), 16:12; 3. William Kitzhaber (Watertown), 16:13; 4. Reed Anderson (Monona Grove), 16:13; 5. Josh Freitag (La Follette); 6/ James Giftos (Monona Grove), 16:20; 7. Alexander Vance (Oconomowoc), 16:25; 10. Bryan Bloomquist (Craig), 16:31; 11. Benjamin Schmied (Watertown), 16:36.

Monona Grove, Sun Prairie, Kitzhaber, Freitag, Vance, Bloomquist and Schmied advance to state meet.


Craig (151)--22. Tyler Brown, 17:11; 33. Aaron Leverson, 17:32; 41. Zander Arena, 17:46; 45. Corbin Kettle, 17:49.

Parker (295)--34. Peyton Meyer, 17:33; 53. Scott Hartwig, 18:04.

Milton (269)--31. Devin Woodcock, 17:28.

Elkhorn (281)--32. Derek Davey, 17:31.


Sun Prairie 19, Janesville Craig 70, Kettle Moraine 114, Fort Atkinson 133, Oconomowoc 164, Monona Grove 165, Madison La Follette 176, Watertown 203, Janesville Parker 222, Milton 233, Elkhorn 296, Beloit Memorial 327.


1. Katie Rose Blachowicz (Sun Prairie), 18:00; 2. Peyton Sippy (Craig), 18:09; 3. Autumn Dushack (Sun Prairie), 18:45; 4. Maddie Thompson (Sun Prairie), 18:59; 5. Kate Kopotic (Sun Prairie), Hannah Ray (Sun Prairie), 19:13; 7. Arianna Mansavage (Fort Atkinson), 19:14; 8. Peighton Nelson (MOnona Grove), 19:17; 9. Lauren Haas (Fort Atkinson), 19:17; 10. Lauren Talabec (Milton), 19:1811. Christine Svenningsen (La Follette), 19:18.

Sun Prairie, Janesville Craig, Mansavage, Nelson, Haas, Talabec and Svenningsen advance to state meet.


Craig (70)--14. Lauren Shanks, 19:32; 17. Madalyn Arrowood, 19:52; 18. Ellie Lorenz, 19:52; 19. Gabriella Petruzzello, 19:58.

Parker (222)--13. Catie Gage, 19:29; 42. Brooke Graesslin, 21:22; 48. Lexie Schroeder, 21:55.

Milton (233)--37. Samantha Henry, 21:1646. Lexi Slagle, 21:31.

Elkhorn (296)--39. Gwen Richardson, 21:20.

Comments Comments Print Print