Disaster assistance available for those damaged by floods

Comments Comments Print Print
Saturday, August 19, 2017

Residents and businesses affected by July 11 floods in Walworth and neighboring counties can apply for low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration, the group announced Friday.

Gov. Scott Walker requested a disaster declaration earlier this week.

Walworth, Kenosha and Racine counties are eligible for disaster assistance, as are neighboring Rock, Jefferson, Milwaukee and Waukesha counties, according to a news release.

A release from Walker's office states:

-- Homeowners are eligible for low-interest loans of up to $200,000 to repair or replace damaged or destroyed homes.

-- Homeowners and renters are also eligible for up to $40,000 to repair or replace damaged or destroyed personal property.

-- Businesses are eligible for up to $2 million to repair physical damage and compensate for economic loss because of the flooding.

The administration will open a disaster loan outreach centers to provide information and issue applications.

The Walworth County location will be open at 10 a.m. Tuesday, Aug. 22 at the Walworth County Sheriff's Office, 1770 County NN, Elkhorn. This location will then be open weekdays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday Aug. 26 before closing at 3 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 31. It will be closed Sunday, Aug. 27.

The filing deadline for physical property damage applications is Oct. 17, according to an administration news release. The deadline for economic injury applications is May 16, 2018.

Comments Comments Print Print