Bluebirds' Perkins, Frederick named first team

Comments Comments Print Print
Gazette staff
Wednesday, March 8, 2017

The Janesville Bluebirds had another successful season.

Ty Perkins and Nolan Frederick were a big reason why.

The two Janesville Craig seniors helped lead the city’s high school boys co-op hockey team to an impressive 12-game unbeaten streak to end the regular season and a runner-up finish in the Big Eight Conference.

Frederick and Perkins were both named to the all-Big Eight first team.

Perkins led the Bluebirds in scoring. The forward finished with 55 points on 29 goals and 26 assists. He was third in the conference in scoring and notched hat tricks in three games this season, including back-to-back three-goal games against Madison East/La Follette and Big Eight champion Verona.

“Ty can skate north and south with good speed and with the ability to stick handle the puck,” Janesville coach John Mauermann said. “He's at his best when he's not forcing things and is creating space on the ice for his teammates.”

Frederick led all Big Eight defensemen in scoring. He had 36 points on 12 goals and 24 assists.

“That's his strength,” Mauermann said of Frederick’s ability to score as a defenseman. “He's a very good playmaker. That is what a defenseman has to do, get the puck to people.”

Tyler Jensen of Beloit Memorial led the Big Eight in scoring and was voted player of the year.

Sun Prairie’s Chris Finkler, who guided the Cardinals the WIAA state semifinal’s, was coach of the year.

Craig junior Baily Aegerter and senior Tyler Kulas were both honorable mention.

All-Big Eight boys hockey

First Team

FORWARDS—Riley Jensen, jr., Beloit; Tyler Jensen, sr., Beloit; Ty Perkins, sr., Janesville; Conor Mikula, sr., Sun Prairie.

DEFENSEMEN—Zach Heidel, sr., Middleton; Nolan Frederick, sr., Janesville; CJ Harkins, soph., Sun Prairie.

GOALIE—Ryan Kenny, sr., Memorial.

Second Team

FORWARDS—Justin Engelkes, jr., Middleton; Jack Anderson, sr., Verona; Mason McCormick, soph., Verona; Parker Lindauer, soph., Memorial.

DEFENSEMEN—Brady Wright, sr., Beloit; Nate Polglaze, sr., Beloit; Jeff Bishop, sr., Verona.

GOALIE—Sam Dunn, sr., Sun Prairie.

n Player of the Year—Tyler Jensen, Beloit.

n Coach of the Year—Chris Finkler, Sun Prairie.

Honorable mention: Janesville—Baily Aegerter, jr.; Tyler Kulas, sr.; Beloit—Jake Benzing, sr.; Memorial—Jack Helle, soph.; Sun Prairie—Kyle Hagerman, fr.; Noah Nehmer, sr.; East/La Follette—Sean Goss, jr.; Verona—Mack Keryluk, fr.; Jack Keryluk, jr.; West—Drake Baldwin, soph.; Max Frey, sr.


Verona, 11-3; Janesville, 10-3-1; Middleton, 8-6-0; Sun Prairie, 7-5-2; Madison West, 7-7-0; Beloit Memorial, 6-7-1; Madison Memorial, 4-8-2; Madison East/La Follette, 0-14-0.


Comments Comments Print Print