Seniors dominate Big Eight boys hoops honors

Comments Comments Print Print
Gazette staff
Tuesday, March 7, 2017

An outstanding senior class reaped the rewards in Big Eight Conference boys basketball.

Thirteen of the 15 all-conference first- through third-team selections were seniors, including player of the year Chris Knight, of Madison Memorial.

Joining Knight—who will play for Division I Dartmouth—as Big Eight first-team honorees were Middleton seniors Tyree Eady and Storm Murphy, Madison West senior Terrell Carey, Sun Prairie junior Marlon Ruffin and Madison East junior Keshawn Justice.

Janesville Craig seniors San’Trell Payton and Adam Anhold were both named to the second team. Cougars senior Jake Negus earned honorable mention status.

Craig saw its season come to an end in a regional final game Saturday at Middleton.

Madison Memorial and Middleton play each other in a sectional semifinal Thursday at Sun Prairie. Madison East also reached sectionals and plays Muskego on Thursday night at Janesville Craig.

Comments Comments Print Print