Myers, Haworth and Millard confirmed as winners in Janesville School Board race

Comments Comments Print Print
Nick Crow
Tuesday, April 12, 2016

JANESVILLE—A ballot count by the Janesville School District Board of Canvassers confirmed Tuesday Cathy Myers, Michelle Haworth and Jim Millard as winners of the April 5 school board election.

On election night, it had looked as though candidate Stephanie Kortyna-Rapach had won a seat, but a counting error at the county clerk's office led to a revision of the results.

The board of canvassers final tally puts Kortyna-Rapach 126 votes behind Millard.

The results are:

-- Cathy Myers 10,069

-- Michelle Haworth 8,123

-- Jim E. Millard 7,315

-- Stephanie Kortyna-Rapach 7,189

-- Karl Dommershausen 5,432

Any candidate may request a recount from the time of completion of the canvass to 5 p.m. on the third business day following the meeting day of the board of canvassers, which was Tuesday.

Kortyna-Rapach told The Gazette earlier when informed of the counting error at the county clerk's office that she would not challenge the results.

"This is not meant to be,” Kortyna-Rapach told The Gazette at the time. "I went through the wringer. I'm done. I'm happy for Jim, though, because he was really disappointed (election) night, I could tell, and he worked really hard on it. ... He's going to be a great board member, so good for him."

The Gazette was not able to reach Kortyna-Rapach on Tuesday.

Once the deadline for filing a petition for a recount has passed, the school district clerk will issue a certificate of election to each person elected.

Comments Comments Print Print