Ash borer confirmed in Town of Whitewater

Comments Comments Print Print
Staff | July 21, 2014

WHITEWATER TOWNSHIP--The Town of Whitewater is the latest community in Walworth County where the emerald ash borer has been confirmed, according to the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection.

Eighteen municipalities in Walworth County are currently quarantined for EAB.

Other new confirmations of EAB in previously quarantined counties include the towns of Palmyra in Jefferson County, Yorkville in Racine County, Jefferson and Viroqua in Vernon County, Hartford in Washington County and Ottawa in Waukesha County.

Additionally, EAB has been confirmed in three new counties: the town of Lodi in Columbia County, the town of Cassville in Grant County, and the village of Oakdale in Monroe County.

Green, Iowa, Lafayette and Richland counties will also be quarantined. Although EAB has is ot yet present, the four counties are surrounded by counties where it has been confirmed and it is highly likely that EAB will appear.

The total number of quarantined counties for EAB in Wisconsin is now 29.

Comments Comments Print Print